Continental Garden Trains
Guests can read but log in to post
Guests can read but log in to post
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For the average enthusiast of trains in garden scale.

PortalPortal  HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Hello, Bonjour, Guten Tag

Go down 
+4
Carl Hibbs
philkelly
mikeyh
KleineDicke
8 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
KleineDicke

KleineDicke

Hello, Bonjour, Guten Tag Empty
PostSubject: Hello, Bonjour, Guten Tag   Hello, Bonjour, Guten Tag EmptySat Oct 24, 2009 3:38 pm

Just wanted to introduce myself to the members of the forum and say howdy to y'all. I've visited your forum before and decided yesterday to join up. Although I live in Texas, I am quite interested in railroading (both real and garden variety) on the continent. I own mostly LGB stock and mostly European style. I have been a railroad modeler for a long time, and I still have my first train set - a 1955 Lionel O Scale passenger set with Wabash A-B F3 Diesels and aluminum streamliner passenger coaches. My Dad got it for my Christmas present when I was 1 year old. I drifted off into HO scale stuff as a teenager and well into adulthood. Somewhere along the line I was introduced to LGB - I won a starter set in a raffle, and the rest, as they say, is history.

I am fairly well traveled, having seen quite a bit of Europe and Asia on various business trips. I have visited a couple of tourist railways in France - the latest being CFBS last year (what a great little railroad they have- I love their Corpet-Louvets). Somewhat unusual for an American, I can actually speak (somewhat) other languages, namely Français, Deutsch, and Bahasa Indonesia. Also unusual for an American, I actually like France (and most of the French folks I have met); I'm also a fan of Edith Piaf's music.