Continental Garden Trains
Guests can read but log in to post
Guests can read but log in to post
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For the average enthusiast of trains in garden scale.

PortalPortal  HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Ignoring the obvious - Railway history in the Charente

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
GWhizz

GWhizz

Ignoring the obvious - Railway history in the Charente Empty
PostSubject: Ignoring the obvious - Railway history in the Charente   Ignoring the obvious - Railway history in the Charente EmptySat Nov 05, 2011 8:04 pm

There's a funny story behind these pictures, I've been driving past this feature for the last 5 years, as it's on the way to our nearest local town - Montembouef.

It was only when a year back, Mikey and I were driving back from the show at Chatellerault that we decided to try and trace the route of the CF Economiques close to my home.

We were pretty sure we'd found the old route and on the way back when Mike slammed on the brakes and said words to the effect "Brian you idiot - what's that?" One of the most obvious remnants of a steam railway!

It's taken me another year to find the time to stop and photograph this edifice - but here it is...
Ignoring the obvious - Railway history in the Charente Tower110

Sadly no longer in working order...
Ignoring the obvious - Railway history in the Charente Tower210

Ignoring the obvious - Railway history in the Charente Tower310
Back to top Go down
http://www.frenchgardenrailways.com
GWhizz

GWhizz

PostSubject: Re: Ignoring the obvious - Railway history in the Charente   Ignoring the obvious - Railway history in the Charente EmptySat Nov 05, 2011 8:10 pm