Continental Garden Trains
Guests can read but log in to post
Guests can read but log in to post
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For the average enthusiast of trains in garden scale.

PortalPortal  HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Early LGB History

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
djm

Early LGB History Empty
PostSubject: Early LGB History   Early LGB History EmptyThu Jun 09, 2011 3:11 pm

Hi

About 30 years ago I purchased a clearestory coach (lgb # 3050) this has spent the last ten years as a grounded van body ! I recently purchased an early post van (lgb # 3020)

These are both over sprayed in Prussion Blue.

Does any body know if this was an LGB factory finish?

Regards DJ

Back to top Go down
KleineDicke

KleineDicke

Early LGB History Empty
PostSubject: Re: Early LGB History   Early LGB History EmptyThu Jun 09, 2011 8:36 pm

Hello, DJ.

I'm not an expert, but I've never seen a #3050 coach in blue. The colors I know of are green (3rd class #3050/30500 - most common version), green/brown (3rd/4th class mixed #30503), brown (4th class #30504), or red (a Christmas version #31500). I've never actually seen the Christmas one, but it appeared in LGB's catalog.

There was a blue version of the postal wagon produced in the 1980's as part of the anniversary series (1985 Jahreswagen) but I believe the original 3020s were all green. The later versions were also produced in green (most comon version, #3019/32190), brown (most sought after- actually a baggage car labelled "Stuckgut" #31190) and an absolutely wierd red and gold Christmas version (#34190), complete with a huge ribbon and bow. These all had interior furnishings and lighting and end marker lighting; some also came with ball bearing wheel sets. I have one of each of these (SWMBO bought the Christmas one for me).